Atoms For Peace Album Review

Atoms For Peace is an experimental rock & electronic supergroup formed in late 2009 in Los Angeles, California. The group consists of Radiohead lead singer Thom Yorke, Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, longtime Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich, Joey Waronker of Beck & R.E.M. and Brazilian instrumentalist Mauro Refosco. Their debut album, Amok, became available for streaming on February 18, 2013, and was released on February 25, 2013.

Atoms For Peace Shows

The line-up had their first live performance at the Echoplex in Los Angeles on October 2, 2009, where they played the entirety of Thom Yorke’s solo debut album, The Eraser, as well as some new songs and Radiohead B-side “Paperbag Writer”. This was followed by two shows at Orpheum Theatre on 4 and 5 October.

The band went on a two-week, eight-date tour of some major cities in the United States with opening act Flying Lotus during April 2010 before their performance at the 2010 Coachella Festival, known only as ‘??????’.

Thom Yorke has stated that the members of Atoms for Peace bonded over a shared love of the music of Afrobeat.

Atoms for Peace performed a song which Thom Yorke noted as being “the band’s first official collaborative song” at Roseland Ballroom on April 5, 2010. That song, titled “Judge, Jury and Executioner” was debuted October 2, 2009 when the band played their first shows in Los Angeles. That song’s title is partially shared with the Radiohead song “Myxomatosis. (Judge, Jury, and Executioner.)”.


Awarding the album 6.9 out of 10, Pitchfork Media wrote that while Amok “is certainly a more colourful, layered work than The Eraser … for all the rhythmic chicanery at play, [it] feels strangely static and contained, giving a perpetual sense of jogging in place.”

  1. Before Your Very Eyes (5:47)
  2. Default (5:15)
  3. Ingenue (4:30)
  4. Dropped (4:57)
  5. Unless (4:40)
  6. Stuck Together Pieces (5:28)
  7. Judge, Jury and Executioner (3:28)
  8. Reverse Running (5:06)
  9. Amok (5:24)

Before Your Very Eyes Video

In 2013, Atoms for Peace released their first music video for the lead song off their AMOK album, Before Your Very Eyes. Check out the video below!

Published by Mike McAlister

I take photos, collect vinyl records and drink really good coffee. Creating awesome things at Array.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *